04 January 2021

Racing League’s remaining 6 teams announced

We are thrilled to confirm the remaining 6 teams who will take part in the inaugural Racing League 2021, where 12 teams will compete across 36 races, each worth £50,000 with total prize money of £1.8m.

The remaining 6 teams are comprised of 23 trainers from the UK and France, with 2-5 trainers representing each team, and entering a squad of 30 horses between them. 

Two further Newmarket teams will see John Gosden team up with Sir Mark Prescott Bt, David Simcock and Robert Cowell, while Michael Bell will join forces with Ed Dunlop, James Fanshawe and Roger Varian

Lambourn will be represented by Clive Cox, Nicky Henderson, Charlie Hills and Jamie Osborne.

A second northern team will include Michael Appleby and Michael Dods together with Yorkshire based trainers David O’Meara and Paul Midgley whilst Mick Channon is partnering with Paul & Oliver Cole, Eve Johnson Houghton and Hughie Morrison for an additional southern based team.

Finally, a French team represented by Philippe Decouz, Gavin Hernon and Edouard Monfort completes the 12 teams competing over 6 weeks and 36 races to win the Racing League.

Jeremy Wray, Racing League’s Chief Executive Officer said “We are really pleased to have such an illustrious group of trainers forming the 12 teams and are delighted to be adding an international flavour with the teams from Ireland and France. The next step will be for each team to select their 3 jockeys.”